How Shooting You Became Resplendent

My trigger happy attempt at learning photography

  • January 2010
    S M T W T F S
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

Archive for January 18th, 2010

NYC Financial District

Posted by mgnswn on January 18, 2010

I spent this weekend roaming around NYC, with my camera in hand, of course. šŸ™‚ Despite thatĀ it was Saturday, I was still surprised to see the financial district completely vacant! Not a car, cab, or crowd in site! Great news for my photo processing because I didn’t have to edit out any pesky people! šŸ™‚

I took this first shot of the NY Stock Exchange with my D90Ā and zoom lens at 21mm with a f-stop of 6.3 at 1/160 sec. I treated the photo in Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 with another awesome filter from virtual photographer called “oldage”. I also removed a light poleĀ and added a Gaussian blur to give the photo that timeless effect.

This second photo was takenĀ no more than 1 block away from the NYC Stock Exchange. My lens was zoomedĀ in at 105mm and I shot the photo at f/5.6 for 1/400 sec. For the processing, I have to admit that I’m not 100% satisfied. I was going for an old, roaring 20’s feel, so I decided toĀ deepen the blacks and minimize the focus from the background. I also spent some time playing with the Wall St. sign and finally settled on a dramatic blur and bleeding of the edges. I’m not sure if I’m really sold on the sign, but I just went with it. Interested to hear anyones thoughts or expert advice!

Share

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged: , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments »